Canadian universities introducing women’s Rugby Sevens series

Canadian universities introducing women’s Rugby Sevens series

On the heels of a thrilling Olympic debut and bronze medal (Canadian team members Jen Kish and Karen Paquin are pictured above), women’s Rugby Sevens is expanding into the Canadian University scene and will include six Canada West conference schools: University of Alberta, University of British Columbia, University of Calgary, University of the Fraser Valley, University of Lethbridge, and the University of Victoria.

This expansion is exciting for the sport and for young girls across Canada who took notice of the powerhouse national team this past summer in Rio. The inaugural season will start in January 2017 and run as a three-tournament series with the winner of cumulative points crowned after the final series game.

What’s especially appealing about this partnership between Canada West, Rugby Canada, and B2Ten is the opportunity for female athletes to pursue their studies, earn scholarships, and work towards a roster spot on the Rugby Sevens national team. It’s an example of how universities within the Canada West conference have been committed to creating new athletic opportunities for student-athletes.

So if your little girl watched captain Jen Kish throw, tackle, and run her way across the field in Rio, and thought she might want to try that too, there’s an opportunity for her. Women’s Rugby Sevens is growing in Canada and the future of the sport could be in your household.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *